News:

The forum and gallery have both been updated to their latest versions, so some things may look different or act slightly differently -- hopefully nothing important!

Main Menu

Eastbourne School of Nursing

Started by malenurse, October 31, 2007, 12:55:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

malenurse

I was a student nurse from 1972 - 75 in Eastbourne. They had just started to introduce continous assessment. In addition we had the 4 practical exams to do assessed by a Nurse Tutor.  1. Aseptic Technique 2. Drug Round 3. Care of one Patient for the day 4. Manage the Ward for a day. These were spread over the 3 years. I remember we all had a little book which recorded the results in it. In the 3rd year we did a pharmacology written exam - you had to get at least 70% to pass. Once completed you could do the drug round without supervision - eek! (No Controlled Drugs of course).

malenurse

More about Eastbourne. The student placements were generally split between St Marys (now demolished) which had most of the general specialities & Princess Alice, which in those days was AE, plus Ortho, ENT & Elderly.  The placements were about 8 weeks in duration and we also rotated from day to night shifts. In between the clinical periods we spend a number of weeks in study blocks. These were very much based on the western medical model of care. (I'm sure this has made me slightly sceptical of non-mainstream medicine.) The 2nd year was the busiest, we could chose placements in Community, MH and Obs/Gyne (no boys allowed though). Also we were allocated to theatre which I hated - not because of the work which was great but how we were treated by the trained staff. It was the only time in the 3 years that I wanted to leave. I stuck it out but vowed that when I qualified I would always treat students with respect.  More to follow .......

malenurse