News:

The forum and gallery have both been updated to their latest versions, so some things may look different or act slightly differently -- hopefully nothing important!

Main Menu

NURSING AT THE GENERAL HOSPITAL, BIRMINGHAM. 1951-1957.

Started by backman, May 16, 2014, 04:05:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

backman

wilfb

Hi.

Yes, I would say that looks well worth a read - It looks long and I only had time for a few pages, but those first-hand accounts are the real stuff of nurse history.

Will.

myk1066

I read a couple of pages on my break at work, very enjoyable so far.

Magpie

What a great read, thank you Peter. I think that I will now write up some of my experiences! I knew Sisters Thorpe, Cunningham and Gadd. I started training at The Queen Elizabeth School of Nursing in October 1960 and was in set 213 Experimental which meant 2 years at Birmingham Children's Hospital, 1 year at the General and final year at The Children's Hospital.We also had a stint at The Women's Hospital which meant 3 different bus journeys! I remember Sister Scattergood on Ward 14 at the General which was Gynae - she was a legend and used to carry a catheter and a pair of scissors in her pocket to deal with catherisation and removal of sutures and I never saw any resulting infection!! I remember Ward 8 with a very strict Sister, it was Men's Surgical, the main hospital corridor ran through the middle of 2 sides of each ward. I remember being terrified when she told me to shave a patient ( never having needed to do this with the children). I asked her where the razors were and I was directed to cut throat razors. Luckily we had a male orderly who visited the wards and odd preop shaves, an Irishman who taught me how to bet and used to go round the wards collecting bets to go to the Bookies. I was in charge on night duty on this ward and the 2 ambulant  patients who took round the early morning teas gave a cup to a patient due to go to theatre, I was so scared I worked out a cup o